Sunday, June 29, 2008

Hythrun Chronicles: Demon Child Trilogy by Jennifer Fallon (Series Summary)

An Epic Fantasy Series Review

Hythrun Chronicles: Demon Child Trilogy by Jennifer Fallon
Medalon: Book One  - Treason Keep: Book Two - Harshini: Book 3
(Amazon Affiliate Links)

The Sisterhood of the Blade rules Medalon with a strict intolerance for religion of any kind. Supported by the Defenders, an elite force of knights sworn to the First Sister, the Sisterhood personifies the pitfalls involved in absolute power and absolute intolerance. But the Demon Child is coming. Destined to destroy a God, the Demon Child may just turn the entire world upside down in the process.

This series is set in an interesting world made up of 5 very different Kingdoms. Medalon, where all forms of religion are forbidden, Karien, where a Demon has made himself a God and all other forms of religion are forbidden, Fardohnya, where the Primal Gods are still worshiped and Hythria, where the Primal Gods, especially the God of War are revered. And then there are the Harshini, created as a buffer between the Gods and humans, incapable of any negative emotion, a gentle race thought to have been wiped out by Medalon.

This series abounds with humor, romance, delightful characters you can't help but love,(or hate) and great worldbuilding. There is also plenty of drama, political intrigue, adventure, war, murder, betrayal, magic and best of all, Gods who love nothing better then to interfere directly in the lives of the characters. There were parts that made me laugh and parts that made me cry, parts that made me cheer and parts that made me very angry. Now that is what I call excellent writing.

There are some mature themes, rape, fairly gory murder, torture, some love scenes but they are more along the lines of talked about then described in any great detail. I HIGHLY recommend this series to any mature lover of fantasy.

If you want more detail about this wonderful series, please take a look at the individual book reviews.

My Book Reviews of: Medalon - Treason Keep - Harshini

(Additional Info)
Author: Jennifer Fallon

Genre: Epic Fantasy Series

Content: Demons, Mythology, 16+

Series: Hythrun Chronicles: Demon Child Trilogy

Publisher: Tor Fantasy

Source: Personal Copies
US Covers: Paul Youll
AU Covers: Stephanie Pui-Mun Law

Read an Interview with Jennifer Fallon

Author's Web Presence
Website - Twitter - Facebook

The books are not available in Kindle or Audible
See individual reviews for more information.

More Great Epic Fantasy
Already read the series? Please add your own rating!

Epic Fantasy Series Review of Hythrun Chronicles: Demon Child Trilogy by Jennifer Fallon - Reviewed by Mulluane - on June 29 2008 - Rating: 5 of 5 Stars

Mulluane is a 56-year-old proud grandmother of 4, who is passionate about her pets, blogging, traditional fantasy, and tinkering with webdesign. She is obssesively photo shy but she uses an avatar that accurately represents her dreams. ♥ You can also find her on:

Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Pinterest

Old Bat's Belfry - Witty Wacky and Wise Quotes

No comments :

Post a Comment

♥ ♥ I sincerely LOVE comments! Thank you for stopping by and sharing your thoughts. ♥ ♥

Love Epic, High Fantasy? Looking for completed, in print series to read?
Well this blog is what you've been looking for!
Please enter your email address to have our dragons deliver great new reviews straight into your inbox:

Delivered by FeedBurner