Tuesday, August 26, 2008

Prophecy: Child of Earth by Elizabeth Haydon (Rhapsody Trilogy: Symphony of Ages: Book 2)

In Rhapsody, a fellowship was forged-- three companions who, through great adversity, became a force to be reckoned with: Rhapsody the Singer; Achmed the assassin-king; and Grunthor, the giant Sergeant-Major. Prophecy continues their powerful epic. Driven by a prophetic vision, Rhapsody races to rescue a religious leader while Achmed and Grunthor seek the F'dor-- an ancient and powerful demon. These companions may be destined to fulfill The Prophecy of the Three, but their time is running short. They must find their elusive enemy before his darkness consumes them all.

*Blurb source*Macmillan
Blurb might contain spoilers, toggle to view.
( Toggle may not function in email and some feed readers.)

Epic Fantasy Book Review of Prophecy: Child of Earth by Elizabeth Haydon

| Author: Elizabeth Haydon
| Genre: Epic Fantasy
| Series: The Symphony of Ages (Book 2)
| Content: High Fantasy, Dragons, Mythology
| ISBN-10: 0812570820
| ISBN-13: 9780812570823
| Publisher: Tor Books (August 13, 2001)
| Mass Market Paperback: 717 pages
| Cover Artist: Luis Royo
| Source: Personal copy
| Read an Excerpt
| Rating: 4/5 Stars
Book Depository Affiliate LinkKindle Affiliate LinkAmazon Affiliate LinkProphecy: Child of Earth (Symphony of Ages, #2)

♥ Mini Review ♥
Rhapsody embarks on another epic journey, this time accompanied by the mysterious Ashe. She goes in search of the dragon, Elynsynos to return a claw found by Achmed, the assassin king, during his exploration of the Bolg home range of Ylorc. It is said that a dragon never relinquishes a piece of its hoard willingly and Rhapsody fears the dragon's wrath if it comes to light that the Bolg possess one of her claws.

Fantasy Book Review by Mulluane

Achmed and the giant firbolg Grunthor are understandably less then pleased with her plans, especially about her choice of traveling companion but as Rhapsody has proven in the past, there is no stopping her once her mind is made up. Jo, Rhapsody's 16 year old adopted sister has reasons of her own to resent being left behind. She is secretly in love with Ashe, a love that is fated to have dire consequences for the young girl.

While Rhapsody is off discovering more about the world, herself and Ashe, Achmed and Grunthor have their own parts to play in the upcoming fight of good against evil. It is their task to further explore the mountain range they call their new kingdom, and in the process run across a few surprises of their own.

I liked this book better then the first. There is still too much telling for my tastes and every time Rhapsody goes on another trip I just cringe but all in all there was more attention to character development and plot. The romance element heats up, Elynsynos was delightful, Ashe remains pretty mysterious but in the end we learn all we ever wanted to know about him, and strides are made into understanding the prophecy.

I also enjoyed learning more about the elemental concept behind the magic system. Each of the four main characters is tied into one of the five elements. Grunthor is tied into earth, Achmed commands vibrational magic which is associated with wind, Ashe commands water and Rhapsody commands fire and to a degree ether. In addition to the elemental powers, Rhapsody has a command of music, another form of vibrational magic, which makes for some interesting solutions to some of her major challenges. There are also some fascinating races each with their own unique but similar religions. On the whole Elizabeth Haydon has created an imaginative and interesting world.

Despite the problems I have with this story I have to say that Elizabeth Haydon is a talented writer. Her skill comes through in some of her dialog, her descriptive scenes are beautifully written, if unfortunately a bit over used. Her use of atypical heroes in the form of the monstrous Grunthor and the snakelike assassin Achmed are alot of fun. Ashe is everything you could ask for in the tall, dark, mysterious stranger but Rhapsody is a little too perfect. Still the story moved right along, the pace was much better, a ton of questions got answered while still leaving enough unanswered to make you want to read book three. Elizabeth Haydon said it best herself in an interview. Book one is about setting up the story and asking alot of questions, book 2 is about answering alot of those questions and book three is the summation, confrontation and resolution. So on to book three!

As far as age rating on these books goes, there is alot of adult material. There are long, fairly detailed love scenes, rape, violence galore and colorful language. My opinion is they are definitely geared towards adults but as you know, opinions are often subjective and I only offer mine as a guidepost, yours may differ. Ok, NOW on to book three!

Series Summary
Other books in the series

Ratings, Reviews, Similar Reads, Buy Books

Librarything Rating 4.02/5

Amazon Rating 4.3 out of 5 stars
(128 Customer Reviews)

What Should I Read Next?
Kindle: Prophecy: Child of Earth (The Symphony of Ages Book 2)

Buy Book: Book Depository

Amazon: US
Already read the book? Please share your own opinion!

Epic Fantasy Book Review of Prophecy: Child of Earth by Elizabeth Haydon
Reviewed by Mulluane on August 26 2008
Rating: 4 of 5

Mulluane is a 56-year-old proud grandmother of 4, who is passionate about her pets, blogging, traditional fantasy, and tinkering with webdesign. She is obssesively photo shy but she uses an avatar that accurately represents her dreams. ♥ You can also find her on:

Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Pinterest

Old Bat's Belfry - Witty Wacky and Wise Quotes

No comments :

Post a Comment

♥ ♥ I sincerely LOVE comments! Thank you for stopping by and sharing your thoughts. ♥ ♥

Love Epic, High Fantasy? Looking for completed, in print series to read?
Well this blog is what you've been looking for!
Please enter your email address to have our dragons deliver great new reviews straight into your inbox:

Delivered by FeedBurner